Closing the Door

Shutting the door is becoming vital.  Actually it has always been vital… but easily neglected.

“But when you pray, go into your room, and when you have shut your door, pray to your Father who is in the secret place;”   Matt 6:6

“What I tell you in the dark, speak in the light; and what you hear in the ear, preach on the housetops”  Matt 10:27

I am being challenged again.  It is time to shut the door. To pray. To fast. The One in the secret place is calling. I am not talking about a get-away from everyone/everything for a week type retreat. Although how nice that would be:)  But rather as a way to live. Part of who I am, part of living. A place to live out of.

I love to pray. I love to shut myself away and be with God. To pray. Meditate. Soak in His presence. Worship. Yet, for me there is a challenge in that. It’s time –  or rather lack thereof.  I want to live in that place,  with day to day responsibilities continuing.

And I know the need.  This nation, as do all nations, need prayer. The nations need the God of Deliverance to come.  We need to be on our knees fighting for this country.  Praying for revival.  Seeking God.  Our very words and actions need to be a response from being in the secret place.

So, my personal challenge at the moment is how.  In between work, school pick-ups, family, and community I need to find time to shut the door for longer.  I have taken little steps over the last couple of years.  God knows the season we are in and gives His grace as we seek first His kingdom and His righteousness. For some an early morning works, or a middle of the night. Others drop a day off work each week,  to free up time to be with Him. When I was working full-time and had a young child who got up with the birds, my lunch-breaks became my refuge. Taking myself to the car to be in the Word and pray. Bible reading became my priority reading.  I have learnt to use what I am given. A spare room has at times been converted into a prayer room. The random evenings when I am the only one around/up, become a spontaneous prayer time.  I also know from experience that complete fasts while I am working result in higher error rates(!), so an adapted  ‘Daniel fast’ evolved.

Yes life is busy. It’s so easy to drift from this place. Seasons change, events come up that alter our ‘routines’. I find myself using lunch-breaks for fruit and veggie shopping. And the last time I fasted??  Nevertheless the challenge remains. The Spirit continues calling.

So I am going to shut the door some more.  Has God been challenging you also? Are you going to close the door? It takes discipline. Determination. And surrender. But how beautiful to be behind that door…

Leave a Reply

